Iron Maiden”Trooper’V/sTennyson’s Light Brigade

Tennyson wrote the poem “The charge of the Light Brigade” in 1861 and was one of the most popular poems in the victorian period based on the Crimean war with the British against the Russians

Steve Harris

Iron Maiden founder,bassist & Song writer Mr Steve Harris was inspired by the poem “The Charge of the Light Brigade”.He penned a track called “The Trooper”which is one of the best known Maiden songs ever it has acquired a cult status among the maiden fans worldwide and is played in every concert.It is from the 1983 Iron Maiden Album “Piece of Mind”

The intro recreates the sound of the galloping horses..Check out the Steve Harris Bass You”ll know its Harris if you are into maiden

The Trooper{Lyrics}do not misuse it!

You’ll take my life but I’ll take yours too
You’ll fire your musket but I’ll run you through
So when you’re waiting for the next attack
You’d better stand there’s no turning back

The bugle sounds and the charge begins
But on this battlefield no one wins
The smell of acrid smoke and horses breath
As I plunge on into certain death

Ooooooooh! Ooooooooh!

The horse he sweats with fear we break to run
The mighty roar of the Russian guns
And as we race toward the human wall
The screams of pain as my comrades fall

We hurdle bodies that lay on the ground
And the Russians fire another round
We get so near yet so far away
We won’t live to fight another day

Ooooooooh! Ooooooooh!

We get so close near enough to fight
When a Russian gets me in his sights
He pulls the trigger and I feel the blow
A burst of rounds take my horse below

And as I lay there gazing at the sky
My body’s numb and my throat is dry
And as I lay forgotten and alone
Without a tear I draw my parting groan

Ooooooooh! Ooooooooh!

some part of information has been used from this great fan site MaidenCommentary which has everything you wanna know about Maiden!check it out.

Iron Maiden are a different band when it comes to lyrics they do not write about sex,drugs,relationships, they don’t behave like rock star”s.They are modest down to earth people

Maiden lyrics are primarily based on literature,war,folklore,fantasies & current events.



~ by da|v|ned on April 10, 2008.

One Response to “Iron Maiden”Trooper’V/sTennyson’s Light Brigade”

  1. […] The Trooper […]

Leave a Reply

 
