Hallowed Be Thy Name Song Facts

Hallowed Be Thy name is considered to be the greatest Iron Maiden song of all time .Its about the thoughts and emotions of a man who is sent to the gallows.

The unfolding story of the song is seen through the eyes of a man who, facing imminent death, experiences first anguish, then terror, and finally hope that he will return – hence the final line taken from the Lord’s Prayer. The sentence referring to life being “just a strange illusion” should probably not be taken literally, and it seems to be indicating that the way most people consider their own lives is an illusion and not life itself. They have this illusion that the life they’re living is the one that was meant for them, and this prevents them from looking any further. They often never fulfill their original dreams because they have been deceived by all those fake dreams that have been instilled into them by society.

There is actually no way to describe this song other than absolutely inspired and brilliant.This is probably the best song ever written!

The song was written by Steve Harris.The lyrics are meant to provide information about the song do not misuse it

    I’m waiting in my cold cell when the bell begins to chime
    Reflecting on my past life and it doesn’t have much time
    ‘Cause at five o’clock they’ll take me to the gallows pole
    The sands of time for me are running low…
    Running low…
    When the priest comes to read me the last rites
    I take a look through the bars at the last sights
    Of a world that has gone very wrong for me
    Can it be there’s been some kind of error
    Hard to stop the surmounting terror
    Is it really the end not some crazy dream?
    Somebody please tell me that I’m dreaming
    It’s not easy to stop from screaming
    But words escape me when I try to speak
    Tears they flow but why am I crying?
    After all I’m not afraid of dying
    Don’t I believe that there never is an end?
    As the guards march me out to the courtyard
    Someone calls from a cell “God be with you!”
    If there’s a god then why has he let me go?
    As I walk all my life drifts before me
    And though the end is near I’m not sorry
    Catch my soul it’s willing to fly away
    Mark my words please believe my soul lives on
    Please don’t worry now that I have gone
    I’ve gone beyond to see the truth
    When you know that your time is close at hand
    Maybe then you’ll begin to understand
    Life down here is just a strange illusion
    (4:50 – Solo: Dave Murray)
    (5:08 – Solo: Adrian Smith)
    Yeah! Hallowed be Thy name! Hallowed be Thy name!s

some Information used from The Iron Maiden commentary

Iron Maiden Band Information

Steve Harris-Bass,Backing vocals,Chief song writer

Bruce Dickinson-vocals

Adrian Smith-Lead &Rhythm Guitars

Dave Murray-Lead & Rhythm Guitars

Janick Gers-Lead &Rhythm Guitars

Nicko Mc Brian- Drums

~ by da|v|ned on July 9, 2008.

5 Responses to “Hallowed Be Thy Name Song Facts”

  1. I agree… One of Iron Maiden’s greatest songs.

  2. Yes one of my favourite songs ever

  3. I hate to agree with people but yes, it’s brilliant.

  4. […] Hallowed Be Thy name […]

  5. […] Want to know more  about Hallowed Be Thy Name “song info and lyrics you can check this previous post of mine Hallowed Be Thy Name […]

Leave a Reply

 
